DropBox allows itself the right to use, distribute and share your files

1

In an e mail despatched to its customers, DropBox reports that it changed its terms of service and privacy policy. "  We wanted to let you know we 've Tahta Made Some Changes to the Terms of Service Dropbox " or "  We want you to know that we have made ​​some changes in terms and conditions of service ". The first sentence of the mail sent to current users, is confusing.

Tosemail-500x403
If we look closer, DropBox does not change its original clauses relating to the freedoms it grants itself, namely the right to use, disseminate and share the files you upload. In fact, the service makes it more clear and readable, this practice that the files sent to DropBox DropBox belong to …. A widespread practice among industry players.

Still, for the most rebellious, even if a user deletes his DropBox documents, they are recoverable for 30 days. So the delete does not ensure security of your privacy highest for at least 30 days. Moreover, for the moment nobody knows whether or not DropBox keep a backup copy of our personal documents, even after they removed.

DropBox written more clearly now that your files can be used, disseminated and shared as it sees fit:

"By Submitting your stuff to the Services, you grant us (and we work with Those to Provide the Services) worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, sublicensees rights to use, copy, distribute, prepare derivative works (Such as translations or format conversions) of, perform, display or Publicly That Stuff To The Extent Reasonably Necessary for the Service. "

Dropbox content is encrypted, but not confidential

Another annoying aspect of the service: when a user sends files to Dropbox, they are encrypted with an algorithm and an encryption key issued automatically to ensure the confidentiality of stored data. However, Dropbox keeps a duplicate key to optimize its service , which requires access to your data.

Initially, Dropbox provides that "  all files stored on Dropbox is encrypted (AES-256) ", which must guarantee the confidentiality of their contents. Then to read your data, it is the decryption key.  If Dropbox said for many months that the files were submitted to a hosted encryption (AES-256) and were inaccessible without the password of the user – only the user holds, a priori, the encryption key, the version of DropBox is not quite the one the company seems to communicate.

"Christopher Soghoian showed that this was not the case and Dropbox has changed the information on its site. Dropbox now only indicates that all files are encrypted (AES-256) and admits that employees can access the data (although this is forbidden). To resume the comparison, Dropbox admits the key safe. "Numerama

Still according to the analysis: It is also clear that the service uses this key which has the double, because "  to avoid storing a file already downloaded by another user, DropBox compared with those files already registered and still maintains only one version ". Or it would be technically impossible to compare the files without decrypting.

Still, the new clauses found in the mail yesterday addressed DropBox users to continue with the following sentence:

"You retain ownership to your stuff. "

Either:

"Users of the service DropBox retains the intellectual property of its files. "

So there you are reassured, DropBox can do whatever he wants your files synchronized on its service to optimize the operation of its services, but will not relieve you of your intellectual property … it's still good to keep a sense humor in this situation.

What do you think? Will you delete your account DropBox?

For more  coverage on iHelplounge   Follow us on twitter , Become a Fan on Facebook to Keep replace concerning the newest the iPhone, iOS, OS X, Apps Information developments

Follow us on Twitter, subscribe to our Facebook Page, find us on LinkedIn, circle us on Google+